My client’s VPN software kicks me off after 12 continuous connected hours.  On more than one occasion, I have been unlucky enough to be running a batch input job in the foreground at the time.  After reconnecting, I discovered that the batch input job could not be processed.When I returned to SM35 after having been kicked off the system, I see that my job still appears to be in progress.  The status shows “In processing”.

I select the session and attempt to process the session again using any available method.  The system responded with a message like the one shown below.

I found that the way to release the job and allow me to process the job further was quite simple: highlight the job and click on the “Release” icon or find the menu selection.

The system response is shown below.

The job will reset itself to “new” status – eventually.  In my experience, the system usually takes some time to reset the job.  I’m not sure if this is dependent upon the number of transactions in the batch job – but I’m guessing it might.

It should be noted that whatever transaction you were processing at the time you get kicked off will not have been saved.  Fortunately, the batch input job should restart the entire transaction you were attempting to process.